Sol Katz Award for Geospatial Free and Open Source Software - Call for Nominations

Previous Topic Next Topic
classic Classic list List threaded Threaded
1 message Options
Reply | Threaded
Open this post in threaded view

Sol Katz Award for Geospatial Free and Open Source Software - Call for Nominations

Jorge Sanz (OSGeo)
The Open Source Geospatial Foundation would like to open nominations
for the 2017 Sol Katz Award for Geospatial Free and Open Source

The Sol Katz Award for Free and Open Source Software for
Geospatial(FOSS4G) will be given to individuals who have demonstrated
leadership in the FOSS4G community. Recipients of the award will have
contributed significantly through their activities to advance open
source ideals in the geospatial realm.

Sol Katz was an early pioneer of FOSS4G and left behind a large body
of work in the form of applications, format specifications, and
utilities while at the U.S. Bureau of Land Management. This early
FOSS4G archive provided both source code and applications freely
available to the community. Sol was also a frequent contributor to
many geospatial list servers, providing much guidance to the
geospatial community at large.

Sol, unfortunately, passed away in 1999 from Non-Hodgkin's Lymphoma,
but his legacy lives on in the open source world. Those interested in
making a donation to the American Cancer Society, as per Sol's
family's request, can do so at

Nominations for the Sol Katz Award should be sent to
[hidden email] with a description of the reasons for this
nomination. Nominations will be accepted until end-of-day July 28th
Anywhere on Earth ( A
recipient will be decided from the nomination list by the OSGeo
selection committee.

The winner of the Sol Katz Award for Geospatial Free and Open Source
Software will be announced at the FOSS4G 2017 event in August, in
Boston, U.S. The hope is that the award will both acknowledge the work
of community members, and pay tribute to one of its founders, for
years to come.

It should be noted that past awardees and selection committee members
are not eligible.

Past Awardees:

 2016: Jeff McKenna
 2015: Maria Brovelli
 2014: Gary Sherman
 2013: Arnulf Christl
 2012: Venkatesh Raghavan
 2011: Martin Davis
 2010: Helena Mitasova
 2009: Daniel Morissette
 2008: Paul Ramsey
 2007: Steve Lime
 2006: Markus Neteler
 2005: Frank Warmerdam

Selection Committee 2017:

Jeff McKenna (chair)
Frank Warmerdam
Markus Neteler
Steve Lime
Paul Ramsey
Sophia Parafina
Daniel Morissette
Helena Mitasova
Martin Davis
Venkatesh Raghavan
Arnulf Christl
Gary Sherman
Maria Brovelli
Announce mailing list
[hidden email]