Review of 2 proposals for hosting FOSS4G 2019 until Dec. 15th

classic Classic list List threaded Threaded
11 messages Options
Reply | Threaded
Open this post in threaded view
|

Review of 2 proposals for hosting FOSS4G 2019 until Dec. 15th

Till Adams-3

Dear Conferenc Committee!

as I already wrote earlier this week, we have now received two wonderful and exiting proposals for hosting FOSS4G 2019. The 2019' conference will definitely take place in Europe. We have SLOC (Sevilla LOC) and BLOC (Bucharest LOC) in the race.

We have linked to the proposals in [1] and also created the Q&A WIKI pages for the question period. This period runs from now until *15 of December*. Please take your time, check the proposals and ask your questions on this list. I'm sure the teams are very interested in responding to all the crazy things we want to know. I then will sum up the questions on the WIKI pages (or feel free to directly write your questions there and link to the WIKI in an email to this list).

The procedure for stage 2 this year has not changed and is as follows: On December 15th, I will ask all eligible members of this committee to vote for their favorite and send it to our electoral commission. The voting period ends on december, 18th 24h CET!!! We can't count votes, that come in later!

Between *16th* and *18th* of December, send your vote independently to our two assistants:
Jeff  [hidden email]

Frank [hidden email]

The team that receives more votes will host FOSS4G 2019. If there is a tie, we will pass the decision on the board.


Have fun (and budget some time for reading...)

Till


---

[1] https://wiki.osgeo.org/wiki/FOSS4G_2019_Bid_Process#Bid_Process


_______________________________________________
Conference_dev mailing list
[hidden email]
https://lists.osgeo.org/mailman/listinfo/conference_dev
Reply | Threaded
Open this post in threaded view
|

Re: Review of 2 proposals for hosting FOSS4G 2019 until Dec. 15th

Vasile Crăciunescu
Dear Till,

Thank you for managing the process. Looking on the SVN pdf version we
spotted a mistake in our proposal (some numbers in Section 3.1 table and
Annex 3 are outdated). We did use Google Drive to write the proposal and
some of the linked table failed to update in the final proposal. If
still possible, please update our proposal with the one available at

https://drive.google.com/open?id=1WAOaXWnusdxZjxpjCEOeO86DLp0FD2oy

If is not possible (deadline has already passed) we will clarify this
later, when the committee will have questions.

Best,
Vasile



On 12/5/17 9:43 AM, Till Adams wrote:

> Dear Conferenc Committee!
>
> as I already wrote earlier this week, we have now received two wonderful
> and exiting proposals for hosting FOSS4G 2019. The 2019' conference will
> definitely take place in Europe. We have SLOC (Sevilla LOC) and BLOC
> (Bucharest LOC) in the race.
>
> We have linked to the proposals in [1] and also created the Q&A WIKI
> pages for the question period. This period runs from now until *15 of
> December*. Please take your time, check the proposals and ask your
> questions on this list. I'm sure the teams are very interested in
> responding to all the crazy things we want to know. I then will sum up
> the questions on the WIKI pages (or feel free to directly write your
> questions there and link to the WIKI in an email to this list).
>
> The procedure for stage 2 this year has not changed and is as follows:
> On December 15th, I will ask all eligible members of this committee to
> vote for their favorite and send it to our electoral commission. The
> voting period ends on december, 18th 24h CET!!! We can't count votes,
> that come in later!
>
> Between *16th* and *18th* of December, send your vote independently to
> our two assistants:
>
> Jeff<[hidden email]>
>
> Frank<[hidden email]>
>
>
> The team that receives more votes will host FOSS4G 2019. If there is a
> tie, we will pass the decision on the board.
>
>
> Have fun (and budget some time for reading...)
>
> Till
>
>
> ---
>
> [1] https://wiki.osgeo.org/wiki/FOSS4G_2019_Bid_Process#Bid_Process
>
>
>
> _______________________________________________
> Conference_dev mailing list
> [hidden email]
> https://lists.osgeo.org/mailman/listinfo/conference_dev
>


--
---------------------------------------------------------------------
Vasile Crăciunescu
geo-spatial.org: An elegant place for sharing geoKnowledge & geoData
http://www.geo-spatial.org
http://tech.groups.yahoo.com/group/geo-spatial
_______________________________________________
Conference_dev mailing list
[hidden email]
https://lists.osgeo.org/mailman/listinfo/conference_dev
Reply | Threaded
Open this post in threaded view
|

Re: Review of 2 proposals for hosting FOSS4G 2019 until Dec. 15th

Till Adams-3
Dear Vasile,

if you are able to put the corrected file into the SVN, pelase go ahead.
If not, I'd like to kindly ask Eli to do it (as he also did it with the
1st version).


Till



Am 05.12.2017 um 11:09 schrieb Vasile Craciunescu:

> Dear Till,
>
> Thank you for managing the process. Looking on the SVN pdf version we
> spotted a mistake in our proposal (some numbers in Section 3.1 table
> and Annex 3 are outdated). We did use Google Drive to write the
> proposal and some of the linked table failed to update in the final
> proposal. If still possible, please update our proposal with the one
> available at
>
> https://drive.google.com/open?id=1WAOaXWnusdxZjxpjCEOeO86DLp0FD2oy
>
> If is not possible (deadline has already passed) we will clarify this
> later, when the committee will have questions.
>
> Best,
> Vasile
>
>
>
> On 12/5/17 9:43 AM, Till Adams wrote:
>> Dear Conferenc Committee!
>>
>> as I already wrote earlier this week, we have now received two
>> wonderful and exiting proposals for hosting FOSS4G 2019. The 2019'
>> conference will definitely take place in Europe. We have SLOC
>> (Sevilla LOC) and BLOC (Bucharest LOC) in the race.
>>
>> We have linked to the proposals in [1] and also created the Q&A WIKI
>> pages for the question period. This period runs from now until *15 of
>> December*. Please take your time, check the proposals and ask your
>> questions on this list. I'm sure the teams are very interested in
>> responding to all the crazy things we want to know. I then will sum
>> up the questions on the WIKI pages (or feel free to directly write
>> your questions there and link to the WIKI in an email to this list).
>>
>> The procedure for stage 2 this year has not changed and is as
>> follows: On December 15th, I will ask all eligible members of this
>> committee to vote for their favorite and send it to our electoral
>> commission. The voting period ends on december, 18th 24h CET!!! We
>> can't count votes, that come in later!
>>
>> Between *16th* and *18th* of December, send your vote independently
>> to our two assistants:
>>
>> Jeff<[hidden email]>
>>
>> Frank<[hidden email]>
>>
>>
>> The team that receives more votes will host FOSS4G 2019. If there is
>> a tie, we will pass the decision on the board.
>>
>>
>> Have fun (and budget some time for reading...)
>>
>> Till
>>
>>
>> ---
>>
>> [1] https://wiki.osgeo.org/wiki/FOSS4G_2019_Bid_Process#Bid_Process
>>
>>
>>
>> _______________________________________________
>> Conference_dev mailing list
>> [hidden email]
>> https://lists.osgeo.org/mailman/listinfo/conference_dev
>>
>
>

_______________________________________________
Conference_dev mailing list
[hidden email]
https://lists.osgeo.org/mailman/listinfo/conference_dev
Reply | Threaded
Open this post in threaded view
|

Re: Review of 2 proposals for hosting FOSS4G 2019 until Dec. 15th

Vasile Crăciunescu
Dear Till,

Not sure how to do that. I'm also kindly ask Eli to help us.

Best,
Vasile

On 12/5/17 1:23 PM, Till Adams wrote:

> Dear Vasile,
>
> if you are able to put the corrected file into the SVN, pelase go ahead.
> If not, I'd like to kindly ask Eli to do it (as he also did it with the
> 1st version).
>
>
> Till
>
>
>
> Am 05.12.2017 um 11:09 schrieb Vasile Craciunescu:
>> Dear Till,
>>
>> Thank you for managing the process. Looking on the SVN pdf version we
>> spotted a mistake in our proposal (some numbers in Section 3.1 table
>> and Annex 3 are outdated). We did use Google Drive to write the
>> proposal and some of the linked table failed to update in the final
>> proposal. If still possible, please update our proposal with the one
>> available at
>>
>> https://drive.google.com/open?id=1WAOaXWnusdxZjxpjCEOeO86DLp0FD2oy
>>
>> If is not possible (deadline has already passed) we will clarify this
>> later, when the committee will have questions.
>>
>> Best,
>> Vasile
>>
>>
>>
>> On 12/5/17 9:43 AM, Till Adams wrote:
>>> Dear Conferenc Committee!
>>>
>>> as I already wrote earlier this week, we have now received two
>>> wonderful and exiting proposals for hosting FOSS4G 2019. The 2019'
>>> conference will definitely take place in Europe. We have SLOC
>>> (Sevilla LOC) and BLOC (Bucharest LOC) in the race.
>>>
>>> We have linked to the proposals in [1] and also created the Q&A WIKI
>>> pages for the question period. This period runs from now until *15 of
>>> December*. Please take your time, check the proposals and ask your
>>> questions on this list. I'm sure the teams are very interested in
>>> responding to all the crazy things we want to know. I then will sum
>>> up the questions on the WIKI pages (or feel free to directly write
>>> your questions there and link to the WIKI in an email to this list).
>>>
>>> The procedure for stage 2 this year has not changed and is as
>>> follows: On December 15th, I will ask all eligible members of this
>>> committee to vote for their favorite and send it to our electoral
>>> commission. The voting period ends on december, 18th 24h CET!!! We
>>> can't count votes, that come in later!
>>>
>>> Between *16th* and *18th* of December, send your vote independently
>>> to our two assistants:
>>>
>>> Jeff<[hidden email]>
>>>
>>> Frank<[hidden email]>
>>>
>>>
>>> The team that receives more votes will host FOSS4G 2019. If there is
>>> a tie, we will pass the decision on the board.
>>>
>>>
>>> Have fun (and budget some time for reading...)
>>>
>>> Till
>>>
>>>
>>> ---
>>>
>>> [1] https://wiki.osgeo.org/wiki/FOSS4G_2019_Bid_Process#Bid_Process
>>>
>>>
>>>
>>> _______________________________________________
>>> Conference_dev mailing list
>>> [hidden email]
>>> https://lists.osgeo.org/mailman/listinfo/conference_dev
>>>
>>
>>
>
> _______________________________________________
> Conference_dev mailing list
> [hidden email]
> https://lists.osgeo.org/mailman/listinfo/conference_dev
>


--
---------------------------------------------------------------------
Vasile Crăciunescu
geo-spatial.org: An elegant place for sharing geoKnowledge & geoData
http://www.geo-spatial.org
http://tech.groups.yahoo.com/group/geo-spatial
_______________________________________________
Conference_dev mailing list
[hidden email]
https://lists.osgeo.org/mailman/listinfo/conference_dev
Reply | Threaded
Open this post in threaded view
|

Re: Review of 2 proposals for hosting FOSS4G 2019 until Dec. 15th

jmckenna
Administrator
Fixed.  -jeff


--
Jeff McKenna
President Emeritus, OSGeo Foundation
http://wiki.osgeo.org/wiki/Jeff_McKenna



On 2017-12-05 7:44 AM, Vasile Craciunescu wrote:

> Dear Till,
>
> Not sure how to do that. I'm also kindly ask Eli to help us.
>
> Best,
> Vasile
>
> On 12/5/17 1:23 PM, Till Adams wrote:
>> Dear Vasile,
>>
>> if you are able to put the corrected file into the SVN, pelase go ahead.
>> If not, I'd like to kindly ask Eli to do it (as he also did it with the
>> 1st version).
>>
>>
>> Till
>>
>>
>>
>> Am 05.12.2017 um 11:09 schrieb Vasile Craciunescu:
>>> Dear Till,
>>>
>>> Thank you for managing the process. Looking on the SVN pdf version we
>>> spotted a mistake in our proposal (some numbers in Section 3.1 table
>>> and Annex 3 are outdated). We did use Google Drive to write the
>>> proposal and some of the linked table failed to update in the final
>>> proposal. If still possible, please update our proposal with the one
>>> available at
>>>
>>> https://drive.google.com/open?id=1WAOaXWnusdxZjxpjCEOeO86DLp0FD2oy
>>>
>>> If is not possible (deadline has already passed) we will clarify this
>>> later, when the committee will have questions.
>>>
>>> Best,
>>> Vasile
>>>
>>>
>>>
>>> On 12/5/17 9:43 AM, Till Adams wrote:
>>>> Dear Conferenc Committee!
>>>>
>>>> as I already wrote earlier this week, we have now received two
>>>> wonderful and exiting proposals for hosting FOSS4G 2019. The 2019'
>>>> conference will definitely take place in Europe. We have SLOC
>>>> (Sevilla LOC) and BLOC (Bucharest LOC) in the race.
>>>>
>>>> We have linked to the proposals in [1] and also created the Q&A WIKI
>>>> pages for the question period. This period runs from now until *15 of
>>>> December*. Please take your time, check the proposals and ask your
>>>> questions on this list. I'm sure the teams are very interested in
>>>> responding to all the crazy things we want to know. I then will sum
>>>> up the questions on the WIKI pages (or feel free to directly write
>>>> your questions there and link to the WIKI in an email to this list).
>>>>
>>>> The procedure for stage 2 this year has not changed and is as
>>>> follows: On December 15th, I will ask all eligible members of this
>>>> committee to vote for their favorite and send it to our electoral
>>>> commission. The voting period ends on december, 18th 24h CET!!! We
>>>> can't count votes, that come in later!
>>>>
>>>> Between *16th* and *18th* of December, send your vote independently
>>>> to our two assistants:
>>>>
>>>> Jeff<[hidden email]>
>>>>
>>>> Frank<[hidden email]>
>>>>
>>>>
>>>> The team that receives more votes will host FOSS4G 2019. If there is
>>>> a tie, we will pass the decision on the board.
>>>>
>>>>
>>>> Have fun (and budget some time for reading...)
>>>>
>>>> Till
>>>>
>>>>
>>>> ---
>>>>
>>>> [1] https://wiki.osgeo.org/wiki/FOSS4G_2019_Bid_Process#Bid_Process
>>>>
>>>>


_______________________________________________
Conference_dev mailing list
[hidden email]
https://lists.osgeo.org/mailman/listinfo/conference_dev
Reply | Threaded
Open this post in threaded view
|

Re: Review of 2 proposals for hosting FOSS4G 2019 until Dec. 15th

Venkatesh Raghavan-2
In reply to this post by Till Adams-3
Hi Conference Committee,

Thanks to the great efforts of SLOC and BLOC teams putting up proposals
for FOSS4G-2019.

I just has a quick look at both and noticed that
the support letter on page 92 of the SLOC proposal
[1] is repulsive and in extremely poor taste.

The wording of the support letter is disrespectful to all of the other
professional organizations who supported OSGeo and FOSS4G conferences
over the years. I also feel that it actually making a mockery of other
support letters in the document.

Since the FOSS4G Conference proposals is a public document published
by OSGeo, I request that an updated version of the SLOC proposal be
posted on the web without including the support letter shown in page 92.

Best

Venka

[1]
https://svn.osgeo.org/osgeo/foss4g/proposals/2019/FOSS4G_2019_Proposal_Sevilla.pdf



On 12/5/2017 4:43 PM, Till Adams wrote:

> Dear Conferenc Committee!
>
> as I already wrote earlier this week, we have now received two wonderful
> and exiting proposals for hosting FOSS4G 2019. The 2019' conference will
> definitely take place in Europe. We have SLOC (Sevilla LOC) and BLOC
> (Bucharest LOC) in the race.
>
> We have linked to the proposals in [1] and also created the Q&A WIKI
> pages for the question period. This period runs from now until *15 of
> December*. Please take your time, check the proposals and ask your
> questions on this list. I'm sure the teams are very interested in
> responding to all the crazy things we want to know. I then will sum up
> the questions on the WIKI pages (or feel free to directly write your
> questions there and link to the WIKI in an email to this list).
>
> The procedure for stage 2 this year has not changed and is as follows:
> On December 15th, I will ask all eligible members of this committee to
> vote for their favorite and send it to our electoral commission. The
> voting period ends on december, 18th 24h CET!!! We can't count votes,
> that come in later!
>
> Between *16th* and *18th* of December, send your vote independently to
> our two assistants:
>
> Jeff  <[hidden email]>
>
> Frank <[hidden email]>
>
>
> The team that receives more votes will host FOSS4G 2019. If there is a
> tie, we will pass the decision on the board.
>
>
> Have fun (and budget some time for reading...)
>
> Till
>
>
> ---
>
> [1] https://wiki.osgeo.org/wiki/FOSS4G_2019_Bid_Process#Bid_Process
>
>
>
>
> _______________________________________________
> Conference_dev mailing list
> [hidden email]
> https://lists.osgeo.org/mailman/listinfo/conference_dev
>

_______________________________________________
Conference_dev mailing list
[hidden email]
https://lists.osgeo.org/mailman/listinfo/conference_dev
Reply | Threaded
Open this post in threaded view
|

Re: Review of 2 proposals for hosting FOSS4G 2019 until Dec. 15th

delawen
Dear Venka,

Maybe there is a cultural misunderstanding here, but the intention was to show that we want to include everyone on the conference, not to show disrespect. We respect OSGeo and OSGeo's work so as you find this disrespectful, we will remove it.

You can find the new version here: https://drive.google.com/file/d/1r5MaAVw5EfB2ZwmgMZZCvgH6aONLqnXd/view?usp=sharing

Regards,
María.

On Tue, Dec 5, 2017 at 3:16 PM, Venkatesh Raghavan <[hidden email]> wrote:
Hi Conference Committee,

Thanks to the great efforts of SLOC and BLOC teams putting up proposals
for FOSS4G-2019.

I just has a quick look at both and noticed that
the support letter on page 92 of the SLOC proposal
[1] is repulsive and in extremely poor taste.

The wording of the support letter is disrespectful to all of the other professional organizations who supported OSGeo and FOSS4G conferences
over the years. I also feel that it actually making a mockery of other support letters in the document.

Since the FOSS4G Conference proposals is a public document published
by OSGeo, I request that an updated version of the SLOC proposal be posted on the web without including the support letter shown in page 92.

Best

Venka

[1] https://svn.osgeo.org/osgeo/foss4g/proposals/2019/FOSS4G_2019_Proposal_Sevilla.pdf




On 12/5/2017 4:43 PM, Till Adams wrote:
Dear Conferenc Committee!

as I already wrote earlier this week, we have now received two wonderful
and exiting proposals for hosting FOSS4G 2019. The 2019' conference will
definitely take place in Europe. We have SLOC (Sevilla LOC) and BLOC
(Bucharest LOC) in the race.

We have linked to the proposals in [1] and also created the Q&A WIKI
pages for the question period. This period runs from now until *15 of
December*. Please take your time, check the proposals and ask your
questions on this list. I'm sure the teams are very interested in
responding to all the crazy things we want to know. I then will sum up
the questions on the WIKI pages (or feel free to directly write your
questions there and link to the WIKI in an email to this list).

The procedure for stage 2 this year has not changed and is as follows:
On December 15th, I will ask all eligible members of this committee to
vote for their favorite and send it to our electoral commission. The
voting period ends on december, 18th 24h CET!!! We can't count votes,
that come in later!

Between *16th* and *18th* of December, send your vote independently to
our two assistants:

Jeff  <[hidden email]>

Frank <[hidden email]>


The team that receives more votes will host FOSS4G 2019. If there is a
tie, we will pass the decision on the board.


Have fun (and budget some time for reading...)

Till


---

[1] https://wiki.osgeo.org/wiki/FOSS4G_2019_Bid_Process#Bid_Process




_______________________________________________
Conference_dev mailing list
[hidden email]
https://lists.osgeo.org/mailman/listinfo/conference_dev


_______________________________________________
Conference_dev mailing list
[hidden email]
https://lists.osgeo.org/mailman/listinfo/conference_dev


_______________________________________________
Conference_dev mailing list
[hidden email]
https://lists.osgeo.org/mailman/listinfo/conference_dev
Reply | Threaded
Open this post in threaded view
|

Re: Review of 2 proposals for hosting FOSS4G 2019 until Dec. 15th

Iván Sánchez Ortega
On Tue, Dec 5, 2017 at 3:16 PM, Venkatesh Raghavan
<[hidden email]> wrote:
> I just has a quick look at both and noticed that
> the support letter on page 92 of the SLOC proposal
> [1] is repulsive and in extremely poor taste.

As the person who wrote that letter, I cannot help but feel somewhat
disappointed by this reaction.

However, I know that W3F has always been seen as conflictive. There is a
point to W3F, and there is a place and time to make that point. The call
for venues for FOSS4G 2019 is not that place.

I will work with the SLOC to provide an alternate letter. I'll also
understand if the SLOC wants to withdraw my support from their proposal.


Cheers,
--
Iván Sánchez Ortega <[hidden email]>
_______________________________________________
Conference_dev mailing list
[hidden email]
https://lists.osgeo.org/mailman/listinfo/conference_dev
Reply | Threaded
Open this post in threaded view
|

Re: Review of 2 proposals for hosting FOSS4G 2019 until Dec. 15th

Thomas Burk
I am glad the proposer and letter writer have weighed in on this. I, too, was surprised by the reaction.

Not a good precedent to start censoring works based on the possibility that feelings might be hurt. Or censorship for any other reason for that matter; I can only assume no law was broken by what was written (though I don't know what authority will determine the applicable laws here). A simple statement that OSGeo is making the documents available as submitted, without any actual or implied endorsement, might be a better approach to take.

Is someone going to suggest edits of possibly offensive material in the other proposal prior to review?

Thomas E. Burk


On Tue, Dec 5, 2017 at 9:09 AM, Iván Sánchez Ortega <[hidden email]> wrote:
On Tue, Dec 5, 2017 at 3:16 PM, Venkatesh Raghavan <[hidden email]> wrote:
I just has a quick look at both and noticed that
the support letter on page 92 of the SLOC proposal
[1] is repulsive and in extremely poor taste.

As the person who wrote that letter, I cannot help but feel somewhat disappointed by this reaction.

However, I know that W3F has always been seen as conflictive. There is a point to W3F, and there is a place and time to make that point. The call for venues for FOSS4G 2019 is not that place.

I will work with the SLOC to provide an alternate letter. I'll also understand if the SLOC wants to withdraw my support from their proposal.


Cheers,
--
Iván Sánchez Ortega <[hidden email]>

_______________________________________________
Conference_dev mailing list
[hidden email]
https://lists.osgeo.org/mailman/listinfo/conference_dev


_______________________________________________
Conference_dev mailing list
[hidden email]
https://lists.osgeo.org/mailman/listinfo/conference_dev
Reply | Threaded
Open this post in threaded view
|

Re: Discissons about SLOC's proposal LoI p. 92

Till Adams-3
Dear list!

As chair of OSGeo's CC I feel somehow asked to calm down discussions a
little bit. In the end, our job is to discuss and decide on the content
of the whole proposals, not only about one page.

To be honest, I for myself have no real opinion on this. This may result
somehow from the fact, that I personally know Ivan and his manner...

Finally SLOC handed in the proposal "as is" - so adding the letter in
question was under their control. I think, that it is clearly visible as
*their* proposal for hosting FOSS4G 2019 - written by SLOC, not by any
OSGeo official, also the LoI in question shows clearly, who wrote it. So
in my eyes it is *not* published as /official OSGeo document/, although
it is linked from our WIKI to our SVN.

In general I am kind of unsure, whether we really reach so many people
outside of our community, that really are keen on reading dozens of
pages of a proposal for hosting a conference? On the other hand - we are
multicultural and if that text really hurts feelings of our members, I'd
suggest SLOC to replace or remove it - also in their own interest, at
least in order not to cast any bad light on their proposal...

Whatever SLOC decides, I think that there will be no instance to control
further content in a special manner. Doing that would mean, that we'd
(who???) have to scan both documents completely before we release them
to the public. And who will do that job? Who has the power to decide,
what is "good" and what is "no good" ?
Not me, no way.

I only can appeal to you all to trust every single member of our
community, although sometimes people make things, that others might not
like. Please keep in mind, that we all have the same ideals & goals! And
finally, I'd like to ask you all to see the good thing: We have two
great proposals and regardless whereever FOSS4G 2019 will be - I am
convinced, that it will become a great event!

So let's continue our work and value the proposals!

Till



Am 05.12.2017 um 16:29 schrieb Thomas Burk:

> I am glad the proposer and letter writer have weighed in on this. I,
> too, was surprised by the reaction.
>
> Not a good precedent to start censoring works based on the possibility
> that feelings might be hurt. Or censorship for any other reason for
> that matter; I can only assume no law was broken by what was written
> (though I don't know what authority will determine the applicable laws
> here). A simple statement that OSGeo is making the documents available
> as submitted, without any actual or implied endorsement, might be a
> better approach to take.
>
> Is someone going to suggest edits of possibly offensive material in
> the other proposal prior to review?

_______________________________________________
Conference_dev mailing list
[hidden email]
https://lists.osgeo.org/mailman/listinfo/conference_dev
Reply | Threaded
Open this post in threaded view
|

Tone of communication

Cameron Shorter
In reply to this post by Iván Sánchez Ortega

Venka,

I haven't read the support letter you reference (it appears to have been removed from the current proposal, and I'm not interested to dig further).

In expressing your opinion (which I'll assume may be valid) I suggest that it would be helpful to select words which are more in line with our Code of Conduct [2]:

Be empathetic, welcoming, friendly, and patient.
We work together to resolve conflict, assume good intentions, and do our best to act in an empathetic fashion. We may all experience some frustration from time to time, but we do not allow frustration to turn into a personal attack. A community where people feel uncomfortable or threatened is not a productive one. Note that we have a multi-cultural, multi-lingual community and some of us are non-native speakers. We should be respectful when dealing with other community members as well as with people outside our community.

I'm concerned that Ivan is being made to feel unwelcome, and will be wary of expressing an opinion in future. I'm concerned others watching this email thread would also be wary of expressing an opinion in future in case they are treated in a similar manner.

I feel that leaders in the OSGeo community should be aiming to make people feel welcome. If others express opinions we disagree with then maybe offer to mentor them to express their opinions in a more appropriate manner. I know it is more work, but I think it is worth it as it builds a healthier community in the long run.

Warm regards, Cameron

[2] http://www.osgeo.org/code_of_conduct


On 6/12/17 2:09 am, Iván Sánchez Ortega wrote:
On Tue, Dec 5, 2017 at 3:16 PM, Venkatesh Raghavan [hidden email] wrote:
I just has a quick look at both and noticed that
the support letter on page 92 of the SLOC proposal
[1] is repulsive and in extremely poor taste.

As the person who wrote that letter, I cannot help but feel somewhat disappointed by this reaction.

However, I know that W3F has always been seen as conflictive. There is a point to W3F, and there is a place and time to make that point. The call for venues for FOSS4G 2019 is not that place.

I will work with the SLOC to provide an alternate letter. I'll also understand if the SLOC wants to withdraw my support from their proposal.


Cheers,

-- 
Cameron Shorter
Technology Demystifier, Learnosity
Open Technologies Consultant

M +61 (0) 419 142 254

_______________________________________________
Conference_dev mailing list
[hidden email]
https://lists.osgeo.org/mailman/listinfo/conference_dev